1996 Gold Medallion Book Awards Winners

Christian Book Award®
Winners Archive

Gold Medallion Christian Book of the Year®*
The Jesus I Never Knew
Philip Yancey
Zondervan Publishing House

New Geneva Study Bible
Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Reference Works/Commentaries
Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Dictionary
Ronald F. Youngblood, General Editor
Thomas Nelson, Inc.

The Oath
Frank Peretti
Word Publishing

Rebel with a Cause
Franklin Graham
Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Faith Alone - The Evangelical Doctrine of Justification
R.C. Sproul
Baker Books (A Division of Baker Book House Co.)

Word Biblical Commentary vol. 33B: Matthew 14-28
Donald A. Hagner
Word Publishing

Abiding in Christ
Cynthia Heald
NavPress Publishing Group

Finding God in Unexpected Places
Philip Yancey

Christian Living
Life on the Edge
Dr. James Dobson
Word Publishing

Christianity and Society
Hitler's Cross: The Revealing Story of How the Cross of Christ Was Used as a Symbol of the Nazi Agenda
Erwin W. Lutzer
Moody Press

Evangelism That Works
George Barna
Gospel Light/Regal Books

Christian Ministry
The Purpose-Driven Church
Rick Warren
Zondervan Publishing House

Christian Education
The Jesus Expedition Very Exciting Bible School
Debbie Bible, Editor
Cook Communications Ministries

Preschool Children
Mouse in King Solomon's House
Mack Thomas
Questar Publishers, Inc.

Elementary Children
Paw Paw Chuck's Big Ideas in the Bible
Charles R. Swindoll
Word Publishing

I'm Outta Here! Facing the Tough Choices After High School
Len Woods
Baker Books (A Division of Baker Book House Co.)

Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts (3 Vol. Set) Les Parrott III and Leslie Parrott
Zondervan Publishing House

Family and Parenting
God's Design for Sex Series: (Series of 4)
Stan and Brenna Jones
NavPress Publishing Group

Gift Book/Poetry
Immanuel, God with Us
Robert Doares
Crossway Books/Good News Publishers

My Utmost for His Highest - Journal Edition

Oswald Chambers
Barbour & Company, Inc.

Bible Study
The Handbook for Bible Study
Lee Gugliotto
Review & Herald Publishing Association

Los Evangelicos & La Politica
Jose Luis Martinez
Baptist Spanish Publishing House

Since 2006, the Christian Book of the Year® is based on judging scores for quality and excellence and chosen among the Christian Book Award® finalists, and includes a sales component to represent the impact of the book on consumers.

* From 1992 to 2005, the Christian Book of the Year® was chosen by Christian retailers as the book they most appreciated selling. It was known as the Gold Medallion Christian Book of the Year® from 1992-1997 and the Charles 'Kip' Jordon Christian Book of the Year® from 1998-2005.