2004 Gold Medallion Book Awards Winners

Christian Book Award®
Winners Archive

Jordon Christian Book of the Year®*
The Purpose-Driven® Life
Rick Warren

Revolve: The Complete New Testament (NCV)
Laurie Whaley and Kate Etue, Editors
Nelson Bibles, Transit Books, Thomas Nelson Publishers

Reference Works/Commentaries
Philosophical Foundations For A Christian Worldview
J.P. Moreland and William Lane Craig
InterVarsity Press

Ted Dekker
WestBow Press

In the Presence of My Enemies
Gracia Burnham and Dean Merrill
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.

Old Testament Theology
John Goldingay
InterVarsity Press

Pierced by the Word
John Piper
Multnomah Publishers, Inc.

Next Door Savior
Max Lucado
W Publishing Group

Christian Living
The Trouble with Jesus
Joseph M. Stowell
Moody Publishers

Christianity and Society
Being the Body
Charles Colson and Ellen Vaughn
W Publishing Group

Permission Evangelism
Michael L. Simpson
NexGen, an Imprint of Cook Communications Ministries

Christian Ministry
The Emotionally Healthy Church
Peter Scazzero, with Warren Bird

Christian Education
Kay Warren & Tom Holladay

Preschool Children
The Mess Detectives: The Slobfather
Big Idea Books
Zonderkidz, Children's Group of Zondervan

Elementary Children
Hymns for a Kid's Heart
Joni Eareckson Tada, Bobbie Wolgemuth

Boom: A Guy's Guide to Growing Up
Michael Ross
Focus on the Family / Tyndale House Publishers

Covenant Marriage
Gary Chapman
Broadman & Holman Publishers

Family and Parenting
Preparing Your Son for Every Man's Battle
Stephen Arterburn, and Fred Stoeker, with Mike Yorkey
WaterBrook Press

Gift Book/Poetry
Think About These Things
Ric Ergenbright

Bible Study
Experiencing the Heart of Jesus
Max Lucado
Nelson Reference & Electronic, Thomas Nelson

El Cristiano en la Aldea Global
Dr. Antonio Cruz
Vida Publishers

Since 2006, the Christian Book of the Year® is based on judging scores for quality and excellence and chosen among the Christian Book Award® finalists, and includes a sales component to represent the impact of the book on consumers.

* From 1992 to 2005, the Christian Book of the Year® was chosen by Christian retailers as the book they most appreciated selling. It was known as the Gold Medallion Christian Book of the Year® from 1992-1997 and the Charles 'Kip' Jordon Christian Book of the Year® from 1998-2005.