1997 Gold Medallion Book Awards Winners

Christian Book Award®
Winners Archive

Gold Medallion Christian Book of the Year®*
In the Grip of Grace
Max Lucado
Word Publishing

Word In Life TM Study Bible
Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Reference Works/Commentaries
Evangelical Dictionary Of Biblical Theology
Walter Elwell
Baker Books (A Division of Baker Book House Co.)

The Book Of God
Walter Wangerin, Jr.
Zondervan Publishing House

C.S. Lewis Companion and Guide
Walter Hooper
Harper San Francisco

The Gagging Of God
D.A. Carson
Zondervan Publishing House

Quiet Times For Parents
H. Norman Wright
Harvest House Publishers

In The Grip Of Grace
Max Lucado
Word Publishing

Christian Living
Financially Confident Woman
Mary Hunt
Broadman & Holman Publishers

Christianity and Society
Searching For God In America
Hugh Hewitt
Word Publishing

Finding God At Harvard
Kelly Monroe, Editor
Zondervan Publishing House

Christian Ministry
Handbook On Counseling Youth
Josh McDowell & Bob Hostetler
Word Publishing

Christian Education
The Christian Educator's Handbook On Family Life Education
Kenneth O. Gangel & James C. Wilhoit
Baker Books (A Division of Baker Book House Co.)

Preschool Children
Praise And Worship
Ken & Angela Abraham
Tommy Nelson

Elementary Children
The Children's Daily Devotional Bible
Robert J. Morgan, General Editor
Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Pure Excitement
Joe White
Focus On The Family

The Second Half Of Marriage
David & Claudia Arp
Zondervan Publishing House

Family and Parenting
The Father Connection
Josh McDowell
Broadman & Holman Publishers

Gift Book/Poetry
Tell Me The Promises
Joni Eareckson Tada & Ron DiCianni
Crossway Books/Good News Publishers

Bible Study
The Vision Of His Glory
Anne Graham Lotz
Word Publishing

Ayuda Lexica
Roberto Hanna
Baptist Spanish Publishing House

Since 2006, the Christian Book of the Year® is based on judging scores for quality and excellence and chosen among the Christian Book Award® finalists, and includes a sales component to represent the impact of the book on consumers.

* From 1992 to 2005, the Christian Book of the Year® was chosen by Christian retailers as the book they most appreciated selling. It was known as the Gold Medallion Christian Book of the Year® from 1992-1997 and the Charles 'Kip' Jordon Christian Book of the Year® from 1998-2005.